Virus Alert

Last nite I got a message in a Firefox window saying that I needed to upgrade to the new version of Adobe Flash.  I get these periodic alerts to update programs like this and said “OK” while thinking nothing of it.

I should have been more careful.  My antivirus caught it as a virus file but not before it infected my Firefox, and screwed with my computer to the point that it would hardly work or turn on.  In the end I had to uninstall and reinstall from scratch Firefox, scan with my antivirus several times and eliminate a bunch of other programs.  In sum while not a total disaster it took a couple of hours to fix it, and a fair amount of stress.

So, if you get a message to upgrade your Flash, think twice about it.  It was a reminder that it is a potential jungle out there and to never be too complacent like I was.

Leave a Reply

